Home World Day 2 at World Cup 2022: England and Netherlands win while U.S. draw Wales

Day 2 at World Cup 2022: England and Netherlands win while U.S. draw Wales

by News Desk
0 comment

Another day of World Cup 2022 action is back as the group stage continues on Monday.

The day before the tournament visually gorgeous opening ceremony It features American actor Morgan Freeman, various world leaders, BTS’ Jungkook, and the first game. The soccer match continues for four weeks.

Here’s everything you need to know from your second day in Qatar.

Wales annoys us

In the third and final game of the second day, USA and Wales draw 1-1.

It was a thrilling 90 minutes of tension and yellow cards flying, but this game was half the story.

The American was the toughest of the two, eventually breaking the deadlock through Tim Weah, but Wales stepped up the pressure in the second half.

Then, with less than 10 minutes remaining, captain Gareth Bale scored a penalty kick to end the draw 1-1.

Looking at Group B, England are leading with 3 points, the USA and Wales are at the bottom with 1 each and Iran are at the bottom with 0.

Holland delays Senegal

In the second game of the second day, Group A’s action was Netherlands beat Senegal 2-0.

Senegal were without forward Sadio Mane. forced out of the World Cup due to injury.

The match was an energetic one, with both sides having chances to break the deadlock, but neither really scored.

Meanwhile, Senegal’s Boulay Dia had one of the best attempts of the game but was saved by goalkeeper Andries Nopert.

it was up to 84 minutes Cody Gakpo It went up to a 1-0 opportunity before Davy Klaassen scored a second deep in injury time.

At the start of action Sunday for Group A, Ecuador beat Qatar 2-0 The tournament started and history was made.

It was the first time the first goal in a World Cup was scored on a penalty kick and Qatar became the first host nation to lose the opening game.

Looking at the group, the Netherlands and Ecuador are top with 3 points, while Senegal and Qatar have 0 points.

england slash iran

Group B action starts Monday, with Euro 2020 finalists England beat Iran 6-2.

The game got off to a slow start when Iranian goalkeeper Alireza Beiranvand required medical attention after a head clash. England stormed off after he was forced off with an injury.

teenager Jude Bellingham Starting the scoring, Bukayo Saka, Raheem Sterling, Marcus Rashford and Jack Grealish joined the goal-scoring action to run the show. Arsenal forward Saka scored two goals.

Meanwhile, Iran dashed the Three Lions hopes of a clean sheet in the second half when Mehdi Taremi pulled back two, including one from the penalty spot.

Looking at Group B, England are leading with 3 points, the USA and Wales are at the bottom with 1 each and Iran are at the bottom with 0.

looking ahead

The action continues on Tuesday, with four games scheduled.

  • Argentina v Saudi Arabia 5am EST / 2am PST
  • Denmark v Tunisia 8am EST / 5am PST
  • Mexico v Poland 11am EST / 8am PST
  • France v Australia 2pm EST / 11am PST

.Watch the game on CTV and TSN.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Copyright ©️ All rights reserved. | Canadian Trends